Hammett, PA (September 22, 2017):

Eriez Speedway promoter Bob Rohrer started the “September Sweeps” five years ago as an end of year extravaganza of racing. Every year the event has grown and this year a season and event high 186 cars signed into the pit area for the event.

After ‘hot laps’ the thirty Zimmer Service Center ULMS Late Models on hand completed time trials with Alex Ferree setting the ‘fast time’ of 14.855 seconds, eclipsing the old record of 14.940, set by Brandon Sheppard at the World of Outlaws event on August 20 of this year. Four heat races were run with the top four from each advancing to the feature and the top three finishers of each B-Main also starting the 40-lap main event. Heat winners included Ferree, Max Blair, Russ King, and Jared Miley. John Lobb and Matt Latta were the B-Main winners.

When the feature race action started it was the Conway & O’Malley Tires & Service Economods leading the way. Kyle Miller and

Max Blair and Russ King brought the Dick Litz Memorial to green with Blair jumping out to the immediate lead and Mike Pegher just nosing King for second at the one lap mark. King was back to second a lap later with Jared Miley coming to third at four laps. Blair continued to lead, lengthening it through the first ten laps, catching the back-markers at lap eleven. In heavy traffic at thirteen laps King caught Blair but Blair was again pulling away at sixteen laps with Miley now challenging for second. At halfway Blair was a half straight ahead while Miley was pulling alongside King for the runner up spot. With ten laps left King was starting to close the gap and Miley was falling back into the clutches of Greg Oakes. King managed to get by for the lead at 34 laps and started opening his lead. At the finish Miley had caught Blair but was unable to make an attempt to get by in the all-green finale. At the checkers it was King, Blair, Miley, Greg Oakes, and Alex Feree.

Zimmer Service Center/Plyler Entry Systems ULMS Super Late Models:

Heat 1: Alex Feree, Greg Oakes, Brady Wonderling, Andy Boozel, John Lobb, Darrell Bossard, Bobby Rohrer, John Weaver
Heat 2: Max Blair, Jake Finnerty, Steve Kania, Colton Flinner, Rich Gardner, Chad Wright, Dave DuBois
Heat 3: Russ King, Mike Pegher Jr, Matt Lux, Dutch Davies, Matt Latta, John Lacki, Eric Andrus, Mike Wonderling Jr
Heat 4: Jared Miley, Wyatt Scott, Dave Hess Jr, Bump Hedman, Chris Hedman, Doug Eck, Breyton Santee
B-Main 1: John Lobb, Darrell Bossard, Rich Gardner, Bobby Rohrer, Chad Wright, John Weaver, Dave DuBois
B-Main 2: Matt Roberts, Doug Eck, Chris Hackett, Breyton Santee, Eric Andrus, John Lacki, Mike Wonderling Jr

Feature: Russ King, Max Blair, Jared Miley, Greg Oakes, Alex Feree, Dave Hess Jr,Mike Pegher Jr, Steve Kania, Wyatt Scott, Colton Flinner, Jake Finnerty, Matt Lux, Andy Boozel, Matt Latta, Doug Eck, Bump Hedman, Mike Knight, Mike Wonderling, Rich Gardner, Bobby Rohrer, Chris Hackett, Darrell Bossard, Dutch Davis, John Lobb